Home > Interactive White Board, Resources > Viva la Revolution!

Viva la Revolution!


Those of you who know me know that I am a big advocate for interactive white boards. When used properly and with the right training, these can be excellent tools to enhance and extend interactive learning for your students.

Over the past year or so, I have gathered a whole bunch of resources to use with an interactive white board. Below are some links to different places I have found them and where you can get at all the resources that I save.

SMART Board Revolution: http://smartboardrevolution.ning.com

SMART Board Revolution is a Ning social network for educators who use SMART Boards. When I have a question about my SMART Board, or if I am looking for a specific resource, this is one of the first places I go. There are thousands of excellent teachers on this network, and when you have that many people contributing, you know there will be some great results!

SMART Exchange: http://exchange.smarttech.com

SMART has put together a great site for teachers to submit notebook files that they have created for others to use. Simply search for the kind of file you are looking for by subject area, title, or content, and get hundreds of files created by teachers for their own classrooms. Much of the content here is pretty good, but you will most likely need to edit the files before you use them to fit your specific teaching style and the content you have.

Starrmatica: http://www.starrmatica.com

Starrmatica is a site that just came to my attention this last spring thanks to the NETA Conference. This subscription-based site is worth every penny you would invest in it! Lesson content on the site covers language arts and math for grades 3-6. Not only are there tons of excellent lessons for your interactive white board, but the resource section of this site is PHENOMENAL! There are hundreds of virtual manipulatives and teaching resources categorized by state standards and content area. Best of all, the site administrators check the links every two weeks to ensure that they are still good and ad-free! Readers of this blog can contact me for a special deal on this service.

Twitter: http://twitter.com

A lot of people rag on Twitter because it can be difficult to understand its value. I can tell you with absolute certainty that I would not be writing this blog or have anything to say about interactive white boards or education technology in general were it not for Twitter. My network includes over 500 educators from around the world who are there to help with questions, offer resources and encouragement, and to challenge my thinking. If you are a teacher, you should be on Twitter. Join up, and follow me http://twitter.com/jasonschmidt123. Let me know that you are just getting started, and I’ll help you build your network.

Diigo: http://www.diigo.com

Diigo has to be one of my absolute favorite tools on the web. Diigo is a social bookmarking service similar to delicious that allows users to bookmark and tag web pages. You can then save them to an account that is available from any computer with an Internet connection. What sets Diigo apart from other social bookmarking services are its annotation tools. Not only can you save websites, but you can also highlight, comment on, and mark up any site! These comments can be private or public, depending on your settings. Diigo also has created a Firefox toolbar and a Google Chrome extension that allow you to mark up and save pages to your account without leaving the current site. All of my bookmarks for interactive white boards can be found at http://www.diigo.com/user/jasonschmidt123/iwb. Browse the rest of my public book marks to see what else I have read about and found interesting! One of the groups I belong to on Diigo is at http://groups.diigo.com/group/interactive-whiteboards-in-the-classroom. Here are even more links to IWB resources.

These are just a few of the places I go when I am looking for something specific. In the future, you will see reviews of different resources that I have used and where I found out about them.

Let me know in the comments if you have another place you like to go for interactive white board resources.

  1. June 8, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Great resources, Jason! I too belong to the SMARTboard Revolution Ning. I also enjoy the IWB Revolution Ning. I am amazed by the sharing in those communities and wish everyone knew about them. Thanks for the wonderful StarrMatica review. We are a company of teachers, and comments like yours keep us motivated to work hard to grow our library of content to help fellow educators use technology.

    • June 8, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      I’ll have to check out the IWB Revolution Ning. My exposure to IWBs has only been with SMART Boards, but I know that there are other solutions out there that can be just as good! Thanks for putting together such a great site at Starrmatica! If I come across anything you might find useful to add to your site, I’ll certainly let you know about it.

  1. July 7, 2010 at 2:21 am

Leave a Reply

