Home > Inquiry, Science, Teaching Thoughts > Summer Reading

Summer Reading


Every summer, I try to pick some topic to read about personally to help make me a better teacher. This summer, I have decided to become a better science teacher. To aid me in this endeavor, I have picked up a couple of books on inquiry-based science teaching.

The first book on my list is Eight Essentials of Inquiry-Based Science, K-8 by Elizabeth Hammerman (ISBN 1-4129-1499-X). Over the next couple of weeks, I will be reflecting on my reading and learning as I go through this book. This book is written as a staff development resource, so I hope that any of my colleagues who might be interested in learning along with me would pick up a copy of the book.

Whether you read it or not, I will appreciate your comments about my posts.

  1. June 25, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Have you every checked out Apple’s Challenged Based Learning? It’s a simplified (in graphical sense only) version of PBL. We are using it for some high school and HAL classes, but the process could be a good fit for some of your science activities. http://challengebasedlearning.org

  2. June 27, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Jason, I look forward to your thoughts about this book. I have it on my to read list, I’m not sure when I will get a chance to sit down with it but it looks great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

