Home > Teaching Thoughts > The Important Things

The Important Things


I love my job. To be able to come into school every day and have the opportunity to stimulate the curiosity and thinking of my students gives me such joy that I can’t help but smile. The looks on their faces when they finally understand a difficult lesson make everything worthwhile. Each day is a new adventure filled with discovery, wonder, awe, excitement, and variety. I am blessed with an exciting job.

My students are fantastic. They love school, they love learning, they are respectful, kind, caring, funny, well-behaved and quick-witted. They laugh heartily at my lame (but still hilarious to me) Chuck Norris jokes. They keep me on my toes with their clever comments and deep questions. I am blessed to have wonderful students.

My students’ parents, too, are all very supportive of me as a teacher and the school in general. Clear communication and strong relationships mean that any problems that come up are resolved quickly and correctly. I have the privilege of talking to my students’ parents face to face at least one time a week, and often more than that. I am blessed to have great relationships with my parents.

I can’t forget to mention my colleagues, too. We all have a shared vision of how the school should run. We are all involved in decision-making. We communicate with one another, and we support each other completely. I am blessed to work with excellent colleagues.

On top of all this, my school is connected with a church that offers an extensive personal support system for the teachers. Our church and school leadership are very sensitive to our needs and concerns. We always have a voice, and our opinions are respected as professionals in our field. I am blessed with a loving and supportive congregation.

The idea for this post started out as a grumble about the lack of technology available to my students. After starting the first paragraph, however, I realized that I don’t really have a whole lot to complain about. After finishing the first five paragraphs, I had to give myself a mental slap in the face for feeling frustrated. I am in a situation that many teachers would give up all their district’s testing budget to be in.

Teaching is about relationships. The most advanced, child-centered, research-based classroom is nothing without a loving teacher to nurture those students into becoming the kinds of people that they should be. All the latest gadgets and computer programs will never replace a teacher who has developed strong relationships and trust with his students because a computer program can’t teach a child to think, to reason, to work with others, or to develop a sensitivity to the many differences among people in this world.

I can do without the technology. I can’t do without the relationships. Thank you, God, for giving me what I need and not always what I want.

Categories: Teaching Thoughts
  1. October 14, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    It is a rare gift indeed. I think you could tell by your brief visit here that all the technology in the world doesn’t make up for the rest of it! Good for you for changing the tone of the post and focusing on the amazing gift that is your school. Now we will pray that some good technology comes your way!

    • October 14, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Kelly. Even if the technology doesn’t come, I will still have more than I need or deserve. God is good!

  2. Barb in Nebraska
    October 21, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Wow, awesome post! and a big Amen from me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

