Home > Resources, Science, Teaching Thoughts > An Astronomical Lesson

An Astronomical Lesson


I love Twitter, and I love my network! Thanks to Richard Byrne at Free Technology for Teachers, I was able to use this resource in a lesson yesterday about the total lunar eclipse. A quick search on Google led me to a Wikipedia article, and I had an instant, current lesson. The kids were excited and interested in the content, and many were thrilled to tell their parents about it so they could try and stay up late to watch it (three of them actually did!).

It was really great to be able to leverage technology in such an interesting and effective way. I have been teaching third and fourth graders about eclipses for the past 7 years, and this was definitely the most memorable one!

I put the two resources I used into a bundle: http://bit.ly/lunareclipse2010lesson

In case you missed it, I took some pictures as I was watching the eclipse last night. Enjoy!

Click on the thumbnails to see higher-resolution versions. If you want something even higher quality, contact me through Twitter (@jasonschmidt123) and I’ll get you the original. You are free to use all these images for any non-commercial purpose you want as long as you say where they came from (me). See the copyright notice at the bottom of the page.

 

Creative Commons License
This work by Jason Schmidt is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at iisquared.wordpress.com.

  1. December 21, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Thanks for sharing! You got some great pictures. It was cloudy here…so I didn’t get to see it. 😦

    • December 21, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      We were cloudy up until about 10:00, then the clouds lifted for the rest of the night! It was pretty amazing. Of course, I had a nice layer of frost on my tripod by the time I brought it in at 4 AM…. 😉

      Glad you liked the pictures!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

