Home > Teaching Thoughts > This Is the Way, Walk in It

This Is the Way, Walk in It


This is my first visit to my blog (and also my first post) in a long time. Life has been really hectic between family time, teaching, and graduate school. I have also been in the midst of some professional and personal turmoil.

I currently teach in a school that runs in connection with a church. This past weekend, I read the following letter to my congregation. I’m not sure what is next, but I know it is going to be great.

 

April 3, 2011

Dear members of Gethsemane,

Almost 4 years ago to the day, I accepted the divine Call to serve here at Gethsemane as the third and fourth grade teacher. It has been my great privilege to share the gospel with your children on a daily basis. It has been a joy for me to watch them grow in wisdom and understanding. My family and I have been blessed through Gethsemane in many ways, and have developed relationships that have enriched our lives.

Over the past couple of months, I have been taking a very hard look at my strengths and weaknesses. While I truly love my students, I sometimes have to remind myself just how young they are. I think that it is important for teachers to have high expectations of their students, however I struggle to remember that there are some things that 8-10 year olds may not be ready to do yet. Despite this struggle, I am confident that I have been faithful in using my gifts in my classroom, and that I have served my students and their families well with God’s help.

While teaching here, I have discovered what joy and passion I have for teaching. I have also developed a great interest in education technology. This is where I am in my element and feel that I am the most effective at teaching. When I have had the chance to incorporate computers, handheld devices, and the Internet in my teaching, I am more effective as a teacher.

In light of all of this, I am announcing that I will resign as third and fourth grade teacher here at Gethsemane effective June 30th. This has been an agonizing decision, and not one that I have taken lightly. I have been reminded of the story of Abraham who was told by God to go to the land which God would show him. Abraham didn’t know where he was going or where he would end up, but he did have God’s solid promise that he would be with him and guide him. That same assurance guides both my family and Gethsemane. We don’t know where we all will end up, but we do know that it will be the best thing for everyone.

We love it here in Omaha, and Gethsemane has become our home. Omaha has many opportunities for me to pursue my interest in education technology. We have no intention of moving far away or leaving this congregation. I look forward to serving here as a lay member. Our children will still attend Gethsemane Lutheran School because Christian education is incredibly important to us.

It has been my joy and privilege to serve my Lord and this congregation since arriving, and I hope and pray that God will continue to enable me to serve him and this congregation in any way I can. I will continue to pray for God’s guidance and direction as he brings us to the place where we will go, as he says in Isaiah 30:21, Whether you turn to the left or to the right, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, “This is the way. Walk in it.”

 

Categories: Teaching Thoughts
  1. April 5, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Jason

    Kevin Creutz forwarded your blog post on to me. Congratulations and God’s blessings on your journey to come. I can relate very well to your turmoil. I am a full time preschool teachers and I have also been a part time technology coordinator for our school for 3 years. Slowly I can see my passion shift. I’m not ready to give up teaching preschool but I have a love for educational technology and the possibilities it brings. I look forward to following your blog updates as God leads you through this new step in your life.

    God’s Blessings,
    Amanda @alhelmy

    • April 5, 2011 at 7:08 pm

      Thank you so much, Amanda. Everyone in the congregation and in my PLN has been very supportive throughout this whole process. I’m excited for the next step, and I’m also looking forward to seeing what God has in store both for Gethsemane and for my family. Lord’s blessings to you, too, as you carry out your ministry!

  2. Kara Cornejo
    April 5, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    Jason- Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Please know that I am praying for you as you continue your ministry in other ways. May God still bring you peace in your decision.
    @karacornejo

  3. April 12, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I know I told you this already, but if you feel Colorado calling your name, let me know!

  4. April 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Thanks for the heads up Jason. We pray with sure confidence in Christ that your future career decisions will enable you to serve others in the Lord no matter what walk of life you and your family take together. I personally hope that you would consider staying in NE; however if in your plans you should gaze towards MI let us know. We would be eager to help you in either case.

    Your friend,
    Jerome

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

