Home > Diigo, Tools > Switch to Diigo from Delicious – Import Your Bookmarks

Switch to Diigo from Delicious – Import Your Bookmarks


The Internet is abuzz this afternoon with (confirmed) rumors of the shut down of delicious.com. (TechCrunch has the story here http://tcrn.ch/fNG0MY)

Now would be the perfect time to import your bookmarks from Delicious into my bookmarking service of choice, Diigo.

If you are looking for a way to save your Delicious bookmarks to Diigo, I have outlined the process in 10 easy steps. These steps assume you have already tried Diigo in the past, so if you don’t already have an account with Diigo you will need to complete the additional step of creating an account.

Note: I am not employed by Diigo, nor do I represent them in any official way. I really love the service and what it does for my online reading habits. I am a self-proclaimed ‘Diigo Evangelist’ simply because I think it is an excellent service and I want others to take advantage of it.

Export Your Delicious Bookmarks

After you click Export, you will be prompted to choose a location to save your bookmark file. Save the file, and you are done at Delicious.

Import your bookmarks into Diigo

Log in to Diigo.

To get the most out of Diigo, I would suggest installing the Diigo toolbar/extension for your browser. The Firefox extension has the most functionality, but the Chrome and Internet Explorer extensions are also very good. Diigo has many more features to explore. Just visit the ‘Tools’ section and you will see what is available.

And that should do it! Welcome to Diigo, a company (we hope) isn’t going anywhere soon. To help make sure they are going to stick around, why not upgrade to a premium account?

Categories: Diigo, Tools
  1. December 16, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Totally agree re Diigo – it has been my choice for a long time. I used the automatic save bookmarks to Delicious option but never really used Delicious.

    Interesting though that a very popular site is suddenly no more, makes one a little wary. Always good to have a backup plan!

    • December 16, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      It is kind of weird that they would just pull the plug like that. I set up the sync, too, just to have a backup, but I’ve really come to rely on diigo’s feature set. Cached bookmarks have saved me on several occasions.

  2. daron butler
    December 16, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Thanks for posting a helpful direction to transfer delicious bookmarks into diigo. I appreciate the steps outlined. I trust I can learn how to use diigo in the near future.

  1. December 16, 2010 at 11:14 am
  2. December 17, 2010 at 6:02 pm
  3. December 29, 2010 at 10:30 am

Leave a comment